Sophie Kathirgamanathan

Sophie Kathirgamanathan

My name is Sophie. I am Sri Lankan Tamil, born and brought up in France and moved to the UK when I became a moody teen. I currently live in Watford having lived in London since I came to the UK. I work and study in London. I work in clinical trials for the NHS and study part-time for a Masters in Research. Why don’t we also throw two kids in the mix too? I had my daughter as my 21st birthday present and my son as my graduation present. I am a campaigner raising awareness of who young mums/young women really are.

As a young woman with no formal qualification or experience, I worked 0 hour contracts, experienced sexism. As a young mum, I was ridiculed for wanting to study, I was discriminated at a job interview because I had a young family, I was abused. As a working woman, my husband had to give up his job due to childcare cost, I'm working poor, I had no flexible working at the start of my career. As a student, I had no guidance or career advice in STEM jobs or how to manage studies and parenthood. As a 2nd generation immigrant, I had to fight to be included in this society and overcome racism and gender equality. this is why I joined WEP and ran my local branch. I want to give women their voice back and make London understand that gender equality is the way forward!

  
        
  

© Copyright Women's Equality Party. All rights reserved
Published and promoted by Hannah Peaker on behalf of the Women's Equality Party
at Studio 18, Blue Lion Place, 237 Long Lane, London, SE1 4PU.

Contact, Terms, Cookies, Privacy

Created with NationBuilder  |   Log in