Statement from the Returning Officers - Women's Equality

Statement from the Returning Officers

Statement from the Returning Officers

As Returning Officers to the Women's Equality Party, we hereby declare Mandu Reid to be the next Leader of the Women's Equality Party.

Celine Thomas and Harini Iyengar requested to withdraw their nomination as joint candidates for Party Leader, and the Steering Committee has agreed. This was felt to be the most compassionate and practical response to a difficult situation. This means there will be no leadership ballot, although members will still be given the opportunity to vote for Policy Committee candidates in January 2020.

As the sole remaining candidate, Mandu Reid is automatically declared Party Leader. On behalf of the Steering Committee, we would like to congratulate Mandu and wish her every success for the duration of her role.

We would also like to thank all the candidates for running skilled, positive campaigns. The calibre and integrity of all three our candidates has been very high - it's been an honour and a pleasure to work with them and their teams.


Alison Smith and Francesca Pridding

Women's Equality Returning Officers


© Copyright Women's Equality Party. All rights reserved
Published and promoted by Catherine Smith on behalf of the Women's Equality Party
at Women's Equality Party, 124 City Road, London, EC1V 2NX.

Contact, Terms, Cookies, Privacy

Created with NationBuilder  |   Log in